DAY 05 – Dust

Most human beings are made up of very basic chemical elements. On the surface I may just look like a mesophilic eukaryote, but I believe I am made of a1:1 ratio of cosmic stardust and bovine poodust. These two elements within me fight for authority and either of them can surface without notice.

Today we deployed all the gear to 4100m deep in the South Fiji Basin in the vicinity of 25° S by 171° E. Deploying the gear off the stern with my good buddy Steve was just like old times and the cosmic stardust was flowing though the afternoons hourglass with ease. In fact all four vehicles went in without a hitch although it was along hard day. Just as I was thinking the lander battalion was blessed with my cosmic stardust I went inside, sat on my box (that’s right, no chair for 30 days), I felt something in the pocket of my filthy working shorts, and my heart sank. The dummy connector for the Hadal-Lander video camera was in my pocket. NOT in the Hadal-Lander video camera which is currently half way between the Kaharoa and the abyssal zone. Of all the things to forget, this is serious, as it is quite likely that I may have fried the encoder boards of the lander on the very first dive. At that point the cosmic stardust subsided and the bovine poodust boiled to the surface. What an idiot.

This photo demonstrates rather well just how much gear we brought on a very small boat.  This is supposed to be the deck.

This photo demonstrates rather well just how much gear we brought on a very small boat. This is supposed to be the deck.

Alan – 9th November

Leave a Reply

