DAY 03 – Jamieson’s Ladder

I woke up at 4am amidst the heavy swells and heard Captain Lindsey and officer Steve out on deck. I couldn’t help but just roll out on deck to see what’s going on. It seems we have sustained a little damage over night. One of our large tubs with about 800kgs of steel ballast weights in it actually broke through the lashings and went AWOL around the deck. It had panned in both our liquid nitrogen dewers, shattered all the deck chairs, torn the handle off one of boxes and perhaps most impressively dented the ladder from the main deck to the bridge.

I knew I would eventually leave my mark on this vessel but I didn’t think it would take for form of a massive ding in the steel work. I like the ladder now, more ‘organic’ than before, rather artist I think. Anyway, it’s now called ‘Jamieson’s ladder’.

‘Jamieson’s ladder’.  It used to be straight.  Now it isn’t.  Whoooops.

‘Jamieson’s ladder’. It used to be straight. Now it isn’t. Whoooops.

There were a few brief moments today when I saw various colleagues and crew but generally speaking the seas are too rough to do anything and about 30 minutes is about all I could last before having to swallow bile. Back to the bunk.

Alan – 7th November

Leave a Reply

